Happy New Year, Friends!


Greetings, Everyone

Happy 2010! Can you believe it?  Did you think that I had disappeared from the radar? I will admit, it has been a busy and hectic 2 months. I’ve been “meeting myself coming and going”.  I spent Halloween weekend playing with and ministering to 3 & 4 year old children at my church in Houston.  Then, I spent Thanksgiving with my close friend/neighbor and her family and I spent most of December singing with my church’s choir in a series of concerts which covered 3 consecutive Sunday nights. That required weeks of rehearsals and time spent in the choir rehearsal room and the Worship Center. Wow…what a whirlwind of activity! I was exhausted, both physically and musically, but boy, was it ever worth it! Praising the Lord through music is my main passion, so I wouldn’t have missed it for anything.  I also sang in two Christmas Eve Services which included a congregational sing-along of traditional carols and a candle-lighting service, which was stunning. Imagine if you will, a room full of approximately 5000 people with lit candles. What a glorious sight that was. I was then invited to my neighbor’s house for hot cocoa and goodies before I went home and had some much-needed relaxation. Oh, and let me back up a bit…those of you who live in parts of the country where it snows on a regular basis won’t think that this is any big deal, but in Houston it’s really special when we get snow. We got a really great snowfall on Friday, December 4 … I even remember the exact day and date : -)

The main reason that you haven’t heard from me in a while is that I went back to work, at least temporarily. I was laid off from my job last February 13, due to budget cuts. I decided to try the big, unknown world of unemployment benefits which was a real adventure. Then, in November, my company was able to call me back to work starting November 30 and going through the first week of January. I will find out on Monday, January 4, when I go in to work, how much longer I will be able to stay there…or if I will be able to stay there. I really hope I can stay. I like the company and the people are great to work with!

I’ll update you again, soon…until next time!

Leave a Reply

