My Humble Beginnings…


I think it’s time that I started from the beginning of my fascinating life. I was born at 12:01 a.m. on April 26, 1955 at the old Hermann Hospital

Hermann Hospital - where I was born, in Houston, Texas

Hermann Hospital - where I was born, in Houston, Texas

in the now world famous Texas Medical Center in Houston. I was born as a “blue baby”. I had a heart defect…more specifically, a congenital defect known as Tetralogy of Fallot. I had 5 different things wrong with my heart, but the most serious and operable was a ventricular septal defect. There was a hole in my heart between the two lower chambers of my heart (ventricles) where a hole wasn’t supposed to be. Back in those days, open heart surgery was still in its infant stages (no pun intended!) so, the doctors didn’t want to perform surgery on me for several years down the road. I was doing OK at that time. Mom and Dad took me home to our house in Southeast Houston where I started my incredible childhood. One day, when I was 3½ years old, I actually blacked out and my parents rushed me to St. Luke’s Episcopal Hospital where Dr. Denton A. Cooley performed a temporary surgery on me which was going to “tide me over” until I was old enough for open heart surgery. The operation was called the “Blalock-Taussig Procedure” and it was very successful. The major surgery would take place in July of 1963, but more about that later.

If any of you have had experiences with birth defects, heart issues, etc. please feel free to share.

2 thoughts on “My Humble Beginnings…

Leave a Reply

